Defending You Against Assault And Battery Charges
An assault or battery conviction can significantly impact the rest of your life. If you face a domestic violence charge or any other charge that includes assault or battery, especially if this isn’t your first offense, retaining an experienced defense attorney as early as possible is vital to minimizing penalties and avoiding jail time.
At The Sanders Firm PLLC, our Conway criminal defense attorneys have years of experience defending clients against assault and battery charges. With previous experience in the prosecutor’s office, they understand the approach the prosecution will take in your case. Our lawyers use this knowledge to develop a case strategy tailored to achieving your best possible outcome.
Explaining The Difference Between Assault And Battery
In Arkansas, assault and battery are two separate offenses with different penalties. An assault does not have to include a physical, violent act. An assault charge requires the victim to be in fear of injury or death. Arkansas divides assault crimes into four categories, with aggravated assault being the most severe. Aggravated assault may lead to up to six years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A third-degree assault charge carries a prison sentence of up to 30 days and a $500 fine.
A battery is purposely physically harming another person. Battery charges are separated into three degrees, with the penalties depending on the degree. For example, a first-degree battery charge is charged as a felony and may lead to five to 40 years of prison time. When a weapon is involved in an assault or battery, you may face more severe consequences and a felony conviction. Whether your assault or battery charges stem from a domestic violence allegation or another situation, our attorneys can help protect you.
Protecting Your Rights And Fighting For Your Future
Arkansas prosecutes violent crimes harshly. In addition to prison time and large fines, a conviction can remain on your criminal record for the rest of your life. A violent offender label can impact your ability to obtain employment, own a firearm and find housing.